Arran, 1960 23 October – 11 December 2010
Tom Alexander, who died in 2000, moved to the Isle of Arran in 1947. After having successfully set up a shop with his brother, he wanted to do something ‘public spirited’ and joined the Officers Emergency Army Reserve.
Continue reading “The £40 Art Collection”
Berlin Blues 1, 1965 20 October 2010 – 13 February 2011
Focusing on the innovative and the experimental,
The Moderns, will explore the development of modernity in Ireland through the visual arts in the period between 1900 to 1975. Continue reading “The Moderns”
[Cup], 1974 2 October 2010 – 10 January 2011
Gods and Monsters: John Deakin’s Portraits of British Artists is an exhibition featuring iconic portraits of artists, such as William Scott, taken by the legendary photographer John Deakin (1912-1972) for Vogue. At the exhibition you can see William Scott’s portrait paired with Cup, 1974. Continue reading “William Scott in Gods and Monsters: John Deakin’s Portraits of British Artists”
William Scott Tapestries at Dovecot Studios October 2010
Three tapestries based on paintings by William Scott are on show from October 2010 at one of the Dovecot Galleries in Edinburgh.
Continue reading “William Scott Tapestries at Dovecot Studios”
William Scott in his London studio, 1972 The Planet on the Table
[N.B. The plate & figure references in this text relate to the essay as it was published but most cannot be shown here for copyright reasons]
Continue reading “The Planet on the Table”
27 February – 17 April 2010
An exhibition of selected paintings and drawings by William Scott was held recently, 27th February and 17th April 2010, at McCaffrey Fine Art, New York.
Continue reading “William Scott at McCaffrey Fine Art, New York”
2 Queen Street, Enniskillen, 2012 15 February 2010
An Ulster History Circle plaque, in memory of William Scott was placed at his former home in Enniskillen. The ceremony was held on Monday 15 February 2010 at 11.30am, 2 Queen Street, Enniskillen. William’s sons, James and Robert Scott, unveiled the plaque.
Continue reading “William Scott commemorated with a blue plaque”
Plums, Knife and Window, 1949 or 1950 5 January 2010
Nine paintings from the Ulster Museum are on loan to the Government Art Collection at 10 Downing Street until September 2010, including the illustrated William Scott painting
Plums, Knife and Window, 1949 or 1950. Continue reading “William Scott painting on loan to 10 Downing Street”
The Queen meeting Robert Scott and James Scott. Photo by John Harrison/Harrison Photography 8 May 2009
The Queen and Prince Phillip visited the
William Scott in Ireland Exhibition at the F. E. McWilliam Gallery and Studio as the last engagement of their three day visit to Northern Ireland.
Follow this link to the BBC news website to see a video of the visit:
William Scott working on the Altnagelvin Mural. Photograph © James Scott 6 March – 20 September 2009
The newly Restored William Scott Mural, originally painted for Altnagelvin Hospital, was unveiled at the F. E. McWilliam Gallery & Studio where it remained on display until September 2009, before travelling to the Ormeau Baths Gallery in Ulster.
Continue reading “Altnagelvin Mural unveiled at F. E. McWilliam Gallery & Studio”